Skip to content

9th Fr. Martin Cup Collegiate Open Jan. 20, 2013 update – San Beda, Arellano, Letran prevail

Tuesday, 22 January 2013 6 Comments

The Letran Knights, the defending champion San Beda Red Lions and the Arellano University Chiefs came up with contrasting victories last January 20 in the 9th Fr. Martin Cup Collegiate Open basketball tournament at the Trinity University of Asia gymnasium in Quezon City.

The Knights gave new mentor Caloy Garcia a warm welcome and a rousing debut with a 71-62 stopping of  the College of St. Benilde-B Blazers, and this allowed them to barge into the quarterfinals with a six-game sweep of Group A.

The Red Lions, with assistant coach JB Sison calling the shots while newly appointed head coach Boyet Fernandez watching closely from the bench, survived a late University of the Philippines Fighting Maroons comeback, 63-61.

Patrick Forrester came up with another sizzling game and scored 14 points for the Chiefs, who waylaid the CSB-A Blazers, 89-79, and this handed the Arellano  a 4-1 win-loss slate in Group B.

Jayson Requejo and Andrei Pantin banged in 16 points apiece for the Knights, who took charge right away with a 20-8 first quarter run.

The Red Lions, with Baser Amer and Van Abatayo making 11 apiece,  picked up their second win in three games in Group A, and stayed in contention for a seat in the quarterfinals.

Francis Abarcar sunk the winning basket, a split free throw in the last 6.4 seconds to bail the Red Lions out of trouble and as UP rallied from seven points down in the last two minutes.

His basket came after the Maroons threatened, 61-62, off a putback by Raul Soyud with 7.3 seconds left.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Stay updated. Follow us on Twitter @inboundpass and Join the Conversation - @hoopnut, @michaelabasolo, @CharlieC, @janebracher @samuelevardone


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>