Skip to content

Ateneo College Basketball Legends honored at ASHOF

Monday, 12 November 2012 Be the first one to comment

The 12th Edition of the Ateneo Sports Hall of Fame (ASHOF) Awarding Ceremony was held last Saturday, November 12, 2012 at 5:30 PM at the Ricardo and Dr. Rosita Leong Hall Auditorium, Loyola Schools, Ateneo de Manila University, Loyola Heights, Quezon City.

The awarding ceremony, dubbed as FABILIOH XII, will honor ten (10) outstanding sports personalities namely Olsen Racela, Danny Francisco, Eric Reyes, Jun Reyes, Tony Cuyegkeng, Jun Gonzales, Piquillo Enage, Andy Nanagas, Eddie Apacible and Pitong Custodio.  Two (2) distinguished alumni, Atty. Mario “Babes” Oreta and Mr. Frederick “Deck” D. Go, who have unselfishly given their time, effort and resources for the development of Ateneo Sports shall be conferred the Ateneo Sports Citation.

Additionally, outstanding performances of champion teams ad athletes of the past three (3) shall also be recognized like the 5-Peat UAAP Men’s Basketball Champions and the 8-Peat UAAP Boy’s swimming Champions.  The Guest of Honor and Speaker for the occasion will be Fr. Jose Ramon “Jett” T. Villarin, S.J., President of the Ateneo de Manila University.

In honoring Ateneo’s Sports Greats, the ASHOF Committee aims to preserve the legacy of these sports luminaries and motivate the young to emulate their achievements.  It also aims to ingrain the significance of sports especially how it relates to Philippine culture and family life through compelling stories behind their athletes’ outstanding achievements by serving as a showcase for inspiration.

The ASHOF Committee, formerly under the Ateneo Board of Directors until 2005, and now an independent corporate entity, has been giving awards to Ateneo Sports luminaries every three (3) years since 1979. To date, 152 sports heroes have been inducted into the ASHOF.


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

Stay updated. Follow us on Twitter @inboundpass and Join the Conversation - @hoopnut, @michaelabasolo, @CharlieC, @janebracher @samuelevardone

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>