Skip to content

UM, Sta. Monica win NAASCU, UCAA titles, enter PCCL zonals

Tuesday, 5 October 2010 21 Comments

A COUPLE of lesser lights will get their shot at the big stage thanks to some sterling championship performances.

University of Manila took its sixth National Athletic Association of Schools, Colleges and Universities title via a sweep of STI Colleges in its best-of-three showdown, while newbies Colegio de Sta. Monica needed every available second to edge Technological Institute of the Philippines and claim its maiden plum in Game 3 of the Universities and Colleges Athletic Association Finals.

UM, which established itself as a force in the collegiate scene by capturing the first five NAASCU championships and winning a national record 86 straight games along the way, left it late in Game 1 with a 78-73 win over the Olympians last September 29 at the Makati Coliseum before a crushing Game 2 clincher, 68-55 two days later. The rookie tandem of Rhandelle Colina and Eugene Torres tore up the STI defense in Game 1, combining for 47 points. They were aptly complemented by big man Jay-Ar Manuel, who registered a huge double-double with 12 points and 15 boards.

STI, the 2007 NAASCU champion, managed to shut down Colina in Game 2, holding the Davaoeño star scoreless for the first time in Season 10. But it groped for form offensively as the Hawks went for the kill as early as the opening 10 minutes. The Gastambide outfit was in cruise control for much of the contest, erecting double-digit leads en route to its first title since 2005. Torres, adjudged both Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player, had 30 points in Game 2.

Accompanying Torres in the NAASCU Season 10 Mythical Five were teammates Colina and Alvin Viernes, STI rookie guard Rama Morales and sophomore big man Mark Montuano of Informatics International College. UM head coach Jojo Castillo, who took over from Francis Rodriguez last year, was named Coach of the Year. Taking third place, meanwhile, was Informatics as defeated Centro Escolar University, 75-69. Montuano had 18 points for the Icons.

Meanwhile, Colegio de Sta. Monica couldn’t have come up with a better script as it held off TIP in a thrilling 73-72 decider at the Olivarez Gym last September 24. John Orbeta sank what proved to be the go-ahead free throws with 14 seconds left to give the Cougars a one-point edge. In the next possession, TIP’s Anthony Hargrove was called for travelling, in the process preventing any shot attempt.

CSM head coach Yong Garcia, who also doubles as an assistant coach for Mapúa Institute of Technology in the NCAA, bagged his third straight UCAA title. He had previously won his first two titles with Universal College, which has since disbanded. “It’s all about heart and hard work. The boys came out big and followed the game plan. They gave their best to win this one, especially Mc Montilla, JV Ferreria and Orbeta. Mr. Melvin Madrid, Colegio de Sta. Monica chairman, supported us all throughout the season kaya pinilit namin makuha ang championship,” he said after the game.

With the titles, both UM and CSM booked their tickets to the 2010 Philippine Collegiate Champions League Luzon-Metro Manila zonals. They joined National University, University of the East, Arellano University, Colegio de San Juan de Letran and Inter-Scholastic Athletic Association back-to-back champion Lyceum of the Philippines University-Manila in the Luzon-MM zonals, which will in turn send four teams through to the Sweet 16. The remainder of the 12-team Luzon-MM zonals cast will be determined by a series of regionals in Sorsogon City, Sorsogon and Vigan, Ilocos Sur.

ABS-CBN Sports will broadcast the 2010 PCCL from the Sweet 16 all the way through the best-of-three championship series. Already seeded in the Sweet 16 are Ateneo de Manila University, Far Eastern University, Adamson University, De La Salle University, San Beda College, San Sebastian College-Recoletos, Jose Rizal University, Mapúa Institute of Technology and University of Cebu, which clinched the first finals berth of the ongoing Cebu Schools Athletic Foundation Inc.

The scores:

NAASCU Finals: Game 2

UM 68 – Torres 30, Viernes 18, Manuel 11, Pateño 7, Tamayo 2, Rabalo 0, Ancheta 0, Colina 0, Tan 0.

STI 55 – Gabo 13, Morales 10, Betayene 10, Sabellina 8, Ihalas 8, Melano 3, Ablaza 2, Bautista 1, Po 0, Daguplo 0, Villadoz 0, Riva 0, Bocablo 0, Chavez 0.

Quarter scoring: 23–13, 45–29, 54–39, 68–55.

UCAA Finals: Game 3

Colegio de Sta. Monica 73 – Orbeta 16, Montilla 15, Ferreria 11, Flores 9, Villadores 8, Saitanan 4, Torres 4, Guillen 4, Jasmin 2, Alquisalas 0.

TIP 72 – Hargrove 28, Quiambao 11, Lamigue 10, Aguilar 9, Paulo 5, Porter 4, Tumalip 3, Bañez 3, Morillo 1.

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

When you meet Chris, chances are you'll assume he wants to be a rock star. He's completed his Master's Degree in Population Studies, and was a game analyst for ABS-CBN's coverage of the PCCL, FilOil Preseason Invitational Cup and NCAA Seasons 85 and 86. Once an opinion editor for a nationally circulated broadsheet, he presently calls games in NCAA Season 87.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>