Skip to content

Cardinals roll past Bulldogs

Wednesday, 16 April 2008 1 Comment

With an experience coach telling his players what to do, the Cardinals became a team to reckon with in the 2nd Fil-Oil Flying V Invitational Preseason Cup with its 1st win last April 16, 2008.

The MIT Cardinals, coached by veteran mentor Leo Isaac, relied on their running game down the stretch to score a convincing 87-77 rout of the struggling National University Bulldogs at the Arena in San Juan City . “It’s definitely a good start,â€? said Isaac. “We struggled in the first quarter but it’s okay because I know the players will respond immediately.â€?

The Bulldogs began with a tremendous 10-0 attack in the first quarter, highlightened by Jay Jankhe’s two triples. They almost buried the Cardinals after Edwin Asoro hit a lay-up for an 18-9 lead with 1:21 minutes left before Mapua’s Kelvin Dela Peña and Jonathan Banal conspired to a 6-2 run that sliced the Bulldogs lead, 15-20, at the end of first quarter.

Mapua uncorked a devastating 26-15 burst in the second quarter capped by Dela Peña’s creativity to seize the advantage at halftime, 41-35. Dela Peña finished with 10 of his 23 points in the second quarter, while Allan Mangahas gathered 17 points, including a three-point play by the end of third quarter for a 65-52 count.

The Cardinals sustained their running game in final quarter to tally 22 points that sealed the win, despite the Bulldogs’ 25 point explosion.

Individual Scores:

Mapua 87— De la Pena 23, Mangahas 17, Mazo 14, Pascual 11, Cornejo 7, Banal 7, Sarangay 5, Acosta 4.

NU 77- Jankhe 16, Ponferada 13, Baloran 10, Asoro 9, Garcia 5, Ponferada 4, Fabule 4, de la Cruz 3, Galapon 3, Luy 3.

Quarter Scores: 15-20, 41-35, 65-52, 87-77

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>